Hello world!

This is my first post to my first blog ever!  This blog is going to be dedicated to my project car:  A 1984 Volkswagen Rabbit Gti.  The rabbit is getting a 1.8t motor out of a 1999 b5 Passat AEB 1.8t, and the steps that I go through to complete this swap will be documented here!

Here are a few photos of the rabbit before the swap:

This entry was posted in Intro and First Few Weeks and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hello world!

  1. Rena Geckle says:

    This looks like an amazing mechanical feat. Have you done this kind of swap before?

    I am assuming the engine from the Passat is in good condition and does not need a rebuild itself. Not a mechanic so making some guesses here.

    • kenleibig14 says:

      Hey Thanks Rena!
      Nope, I’ve never done an engine swap before! This is my first one 🙂 I’ve worked on engines before, but I’ve never done anything like this, and I’m really enjoying it so far.
      And yep, you’re right. The Passat’s engine is in great condition, no need for a rebuild. Just standard maintenance items like a new timing belt, new water pump, thermostat, oil, oil filter, etc.

      Thanks for my first comment too!

  2. Alex says:

    Lots of progress so far! I’m fairly confident you will have this finished by your projected deadline. Keep up the good work and don’t forget put loads of pictures up 😀

    • kenleibig14 says:

      Thanks for watching Alex! 🙂
      And yes, I know pictures are everyone’s favorite! (for my class, I’m supposed to have 300-500 words per post, but a picture is worth 1000 words right? 😉 )
      Good luck on getting your 1.8t tomorrow!
      You can bet I’ll be subscribed to your thread when you start it.

Leave a comment