The First Few Weeks

I’m starting this blog rather late, so I’ve got a few weeks of catching up to do!  I purchased a 1999 VW Passat off of a co-worker for $1200.  The engine was the AEB 1.8t 20v (the one with the large ports in the head) and had 130,000 miles on the drivetrain.  Here’s a picture of the day I bought it:

It didn’t look like that for too long! :-p   After 2 days of work, the engine was out: (keep in mind that I’m doing this swap every day after work, so when I say “day” I really mean from 5pm- 9pm)

The next two weeks consisted of me gutting the car and taking every possible thing off of it so that I could part it out and make some of my money back.  I am in the process of creating a price breakdown spreadsheet of everything I’ve bought and everything I’ve sold.  I’ll post it sometime later, but so far I’m still in the red (as expected).

This entry was posted in Intro and First Few Weeks and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment