Coolant Lines

A challenging part of this build for me has been the coolant lines.  Since the whole setup is custom and the radiator has been moved, there aren’t any pre-made to fit coolant lines available at auto stores, so I had to work with what I had and what I could find.  For the top radiator hose, I cut a straight section out of the previous hose I had.  The coolant return pipe for the passat also no longer fit in place because of the new TT manifold, so I had to cut that pipe and extend it with another hose I had laying around.

Then, for the coolant return from the turbo, I had to find a new solution, because the upgraded turbo had too short of a line.  I bought some new coolant line that they sell by the foot at Autozone and also got a double sided barbed fitting so that I could basically just extend that line.  The expansion tank hoses fit the same as they did previously, which was very convenient.

For the heater core hoses, I ran one with the same coolant line as the oil cooler used to have.  It fit perfectly.  for the other, I used a straight section of the “by the foot” coolant hose that I had and I made it fit.  The oil cooler lines were ran with several brass fittings and silicone heater hose from Lowe’s.  In this picture, you can see the expansion tank, return line extension, and heater core hoses:

The hardest part of the coolant hoses was the bottom radiator (or feed) hose. It was a tight fit and needed 2 extreme angles.  Utilizing the old lower rad hose, I cut it in half to get a 90 degree turn that I wanted.  From there I went to Autozone to search for a “U” type coolant hose and connector that was about the same diameter.  That was a fun conversation with an employee from Autozone:

AZ: “Well, what car did you say this was for?”

Me: “Trust me, it’s not in  your computer, just let me look at the hoses you have in stock.”

He did let me look, and I found  “u” bend hose that I thought might just work.  They didn’t have any connectors that big, so I just bought a piece of exhaust pipe that I could hose clamp both ends onto.  From there, it was just about cutting the two hoses the right length to fit.  I think it turned out pretty well actually!  What do you think?

The only thing that was left after that was the turbo coolant feed line, which basically lined up.  I just bent it a little bit and it slid right on.  Also in this picture, you can see that I put the drive axle in place and realized that the oil return from the turbo rubbed against it.  that’s no good, so I put one of those brass 90 degree fitting in there and it fits just perfectly:

Here’s a teaser pic with the grille and headlights mounted up :-p

The oil and coolant lines and systems are now complete!

This entry was posted in Coolant Lines and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Coolant Lines

  1. Luke says:

    hey just a question for your top coolant line did you just cut the aeb stock metal cooling pipe then just connect it with some hose? if so does it leak at all since there is no lip? or did you do something to seal it. thanks! im currently doing my cooling system 🙂

  2. kenleibig14 says:

    good eye! Yes, I did use the stock top coolant pipe and just cut it and connected it with a rubber hose. It has never leaked, even though there is no lip. I’m currently searching for other options, however, because I’d like to clean up the engine bay and hide that ugly coolant line.

    Any idea on how the Audi TT runs that line?

  3. Luke says:

    hey thanks for the reply man! not really to sure how the audi’s do it i was looking on google at some engine bay pics but it didn’t really shed any light haha. I was also wondering what radiator fan are you using? im currently using a 16v scirroco one, and im thinking im going to need a super thing rad fan with it. Did you have any trouble fitting your rad fan?

    • kenleibig14 says:

      Yeah, I had a pretty tough time fitting it. I used the 8v rabbit fan shroud and trimmed it down with a dremel. I used the Passat’s fan and drilled holes in the shroud mount to bolt the fan onto it and then welded the mount back onto the shroud. I then had to move the location of the radiator to the left a few inches and closer in the bay.It involved lots of fabrication. The only reason I did it this way is because it was a budget build and I had the Passat fan laying around. If you’ve got some cash, I definitely recommend buying a slim fan setup to use that. I hear that the 16v shrouds and fans are pretty slim as is though, you could probably get that to work pretty nicely.

Leave a comment